Last December 8, 2017, the St. Luke’s College of Medicine community held “Aurum 2017”: SLCM Christmas Party at the Emerald Hall of the Glass Garden in Pasig City. Hosted by the Batch 2022, the night’s festivity was adapted from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel The Great Gatsby.

Members of the Administration and Faculty watch the performances

The event opened with an invocation led by Denise Andal followed by the opening remarks from the Associate Dean for Student Affairs Dr. Malaya P. Santos. The celebration began with a Bato-Bato Pik tournament in which Ryza Sollestra brought home the championship reward. This was followed by the inter-batch Mr. and Ms. Lukan pageant. Batch 2021 representatives Joshua Elijah Chavez and Hannah Carize Sangalang were awarded as 2nd runner up; Holijah Uy and Gea Shanine Sedayao from Batch 2020 as 1st runner up and Dominik Arceo and Gebrelle Castillo from Batch 2022 took home the crown as Mr. and Ms. Lukan 2017.

Dominik Arceo and Gebrelle Castillo perform their dance number

St. Lukes’ Dance Company members from Batch 2022 delivered a sultry performance as an opening number to the Batch Talent Competition, an opportunity to showcase each batch’s talent, creativity and unity. Batch 2022 executed a meaningful and inspiring production tackling issues in the 1920s such as women’s suffrage, equality, and freedom. This was followed by the presentation by Batch 2021, involving a romance and a mafia musical drama storyline. Lastly, the Batch 2020 delights the crowd with a romantic musical plot, serenade and dance numbers. CIFAST served as the panel of judges for this event in which they declared Batch 2022 as the winner.

Following the batch talent competition, the ice-breaker activity “Quiztion” engaged the Lukan community by testing their general knowledge and teamwork. Raffle prizes of Starbucks gift cards, shopping gift cards and an iPad Pro were also given. The MacBook Air which served as the grand raffle prize was won by  Ivanah Tupaz.

Students, clerks, interns, faculty members and staff arrived in their dresses and suits in accordance to the theme to which a few of them were given special recognition as stunners and head-turners of the night by batch as voted by the majority. “Stunners of the Night” awardees include Gab Bautista, Vince Camangeg and Paul Gregado from Batch 2022, 2021 and 2020 respectively. Meanwhile, “Head-turner of the Night” awardees were Lor Eusebio, Janelle Montano and Cynthia dela Cruz from batch 2022, 2021 and 2020 respectively. Lastly, Dr. Irving Tan won as the Stunner of the Night while Dr. Malaya Santos as the Head-turner of the Night from the CIFAST. Special awards were also given to Lor Eusebio and Jerard Sio as the “Daisy and Jay of the Night” while the “Early Bird Award” was given to Marga Querido.

Vince Camangeg, Gab Bautista and Paul Gregado pose with their “Stunners of the Night” Award.

Lorelei Eusebio and Jerard Sio win the “Daisy and Jay of the Night” Award.

Towards the end of the program, Nathea Valdez delivered her closing remarks and accepted an award of appreciation from the batch. The event ended with the dance floor being opened for all to enjoy the rest of the night.

Photo credits: Shoot UPM.