The St. Luke’s College of Medicine- William H. Quasha Memorial held its opening ceremonies last July 31, 2017 at Angelo King Auditorium. The event was attended by the board of trustees, school administration, faculty members and students.

Dr. Malaya P. Santos, the College Secretary, acknowledged the presence of the board of trustees Leonora Cabili, Teddy KingSu, Dr. Rafael Rodriguez, and Rt. Rev Manuel C. Lumpias; President and CEO of St. Luke’s Medical Center Dr. Edgardo R. Cortez; and the school administration, former President and Dean Dr. Brigido L. Carandang, new President and Dean Dr. Susan P. Nagtalon, former Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Dr. Joanne Sebastiana de Ramos, new Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Dr. Sharma Vibette Ojeda and Associate Dean for Student and Faculty Affairs Dr. Bernard F. Laya.

Mr. Robert Kuan, chairperson of the board of trustees and speaker for the event, recounted how he became part of the board of trustees, how the medical school was established, its development and its drive to become one of the best medical schools in the country. He credited and thanked the late Atty. William H. Quasha who had “set the tone and vision to transform St. Luke’s Medical Center to a world class medical center”. In addition, he also acknowledged and gave tribute to the 12 years of presidency and deanship of Dr. Carandang.

Mr Kuan takes his place as the new Chairman of the Board

Dr. Carandang delivered his final message as the president and dean of the college by thanking his partners in the administration and stating that the last 12 years was the best years of his life. He also took this opportunity to formally welcome Mr. Robert Kuan as the chairperson of the board of trustees, Dr. Sharma Vibette Ojeda as the new Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Dr. Susan P. Nagtalon as the new President and Dean. He also welcomed the freshmen who would be taking their first steps in medical school as well as the students who will be continuing in their pursuit of knowledge. He said that even though he has retired from his post in the College, he would still be around as part of the board of trustees.

Dean Carandang gives his final speech as dean of the college

Dean Nagtalon takes her place as the new dean of the college

Following the turnover, the administration officials, heads of different academic departments and the scholars were formally presented to the Lukan community. Recipients of the DOST scholarship for Molecular Medicine program was presented by MS Molecular Medicine Program Director Mark Pierre S. Dimamay, PhD. This was followed by recognizing the 40 full scholars and 4 foundation scholars from the first year by Dr. Nagtalon. Dr. Sharma Ojeda presented the Dean’s list and top 10 students for S.Y. 2016-2017 from batches 2021, 2020, 2019 and 2018.

Dr De Ramos receives a Lukan award for serving as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Dr. Carandang announced the three “scholars among scholars,” the students who excelled not only in academics but have shown passion, leadership and activeness in community work. The Jose F. Ledesma Scholarship for Academic Affairs was given to Anlorenze Mae Conde, the Robert Kuan Scholarship for Leadership was given to Nico Hermann Sison and the Bishop Manual Lumpias Scholarship for Passion and Spirit was awarded to Oliver B. Perez. Recipients will be receiving free tuition throughout their stay in the college plus a cash price of thirty thousand pesos. Another Lukan award was given to the outgoing Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Dr. de Ramos for her dedication not only to the students but to the whole SLCM community.

The three total scholars bring home the bacon, photos by Rajiv Menghrajani

The opening ceremonies culminated by the oath taking of the newly elected student council officers and members for S.Y. 2017-2018 headed by the Student Council President Nico Hermann Sison.

Following a short break, a library orientation was conducted where the the rules and regulations while inside the premises as well as the extended library hours during exam period was tackled. Dr. Ojeda discussed the curriculum and academic policies while Dr. Laya addressed the student policies and services. A Bio-Safety, Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Control Team (BEPADCT) lecture was given in the afternoon.