Last June 2, the 1st Inter-medical Physiology Quiz Contest in the Philippines was held at Far Eastern University- NRMF Institute of Medicine. The event was sponsored by the Philippine Society for Physiology in cooperation with the University of Malaya.

Rubelyn Baysic, Vince Ivan Camangeg, Marcelino Dario, Fernan Reyes and Mann Cyron Sarmiento from Class 2021 represented St. Luke’s College of Medicine. They were guided and accompanied to the event by Department of Physiology faculty members Dr. Anthony Pasco III and Dr. Irving Tan. A total of 15 medical schools participated in the contest.

The schools were grouped randomly into three brackets for the elimination round.

In the first bracket, SLCM competed against New Era University, De La Salle Health Science Institute, Manila Central University and Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila. SLCM won with a score of 12 and was automatically included in the final round.

The second bracket was composed of the following schools: Angeles University Foundation, FEU-NRMF, University of Santo Tomas, Western Visayas Medical School and Xavier University. UST and AUF, tied at a score of 8 were both included in the final round.

In the last bracket, UP College of Medicine won against University of the East, University of Perpetual Help, San Beda College of Medicine and Our Lady of Fatima University with a score of 11.

The top five schools that got in the final round were UPCM, UST, PLM, AUF and SLCM. In the first few questions SLCM lagged behind with a score of -2 while UST lead with a score of 2.

However, in the last set, SLCM caught up and earned the championship by a wide berth, ending with a score of 11. The final scores of the other schools were: AUF –  (-)2, PLM – 3, UPCM – 4, and UST – 5.

The participants from SLCM will be going to Malaysia on August 16 to 18 as one of the representatives of the Philippines in the 15th International Inter-medical School Physiology Quiz Contest where at most 100 medical schools from different countries will be participating.

In the two-day event the participants will also be able to attend a lecture series by Medical Physiology book author Prof. Walter F. Boron.

From L to R: Vince Ivan Camangeg, Marcelino Dario, Fernan Reyes, Rubelyn Baysic, Dr. Antonio Pasco III, Cyron Sarmiento, Dr. Irving Tan and quiz master Dr. Cheng Hwee Ming pose with the Championship Trophy. Photos by Melchin Tapan