Recognizing the exemplary works and contribution of the faculty members by the students and their colleagues, SLCM revived its Faculty Recognition Day at Angelo King Auditorium, April 5, 2017.

Dean Brigido Carandang made the opening remarks by briefly stating that important feats by its students made the school proud and this could not be done without the accompanying services and commitments of the entire faculty members making the school where they are today. He said that this recognition day is dedicated to them in the hopes of becoming an inspiration to all the students and that the tradition of excellence may be carried on.


He then introduced the meaning behind the statuette that will be presented today, which he declared as the symbol of St. Luke’s College of Medicine and established as the reward for the people of the whole SLCM community who does excellent and exemplary works.

The statuette is described as a nymph, a daughter of Aesclepius with the third eye representing the ability to see and absorb knowledge, confronting a serpent, which represents regeneration and healing. In addition, a tree of life was seen at the back while the names of the daughters of Aesclepius and a Latin phrase which means, “Life is short, art is long, experience difficult” can be seen below.

Associate Dean for Faculty and Student Affairs and the brainchild of reviving the said activity, Dr. Bernard Laya, introduced the program proper. The first part will recognize the distinguished professors, second part will cover the student’s choice awardees, and lastly, the awarding of the most outstanding faculty of the year.

The master of ceremonies, Dr. Sharma Ojeda and Dr. Jeffrey So, gave an overview of the different academic ranks, depending on their qualifications, of the faculty members and the selection process.


Introduced as a teacher, mentor, researcher and a social mobilizer, Dr. Carolina Linda Tapia, department chairwoman of the Department of Preventive and Community Medicine, is one of the recipients of the Distinguished Professors’ award in the college this year. Believing that this award means that she is recognized as a seasoned teacher, she chose to speak about her discipline, community medicine and the important people whom she considers her achievements. She showed clips and videos that showcases the importance of community medicine.


In the last part of her speech, she meant a challenge for everyone to give the best possible care to most number of people and that every man, woman and child can see a doctor on a regular basis that could invest in their health. She also dreams that we all share her dream of a community where each and every person will have an opportunity to live in his healthy state.

Having presented as a researcher, leader, innovator, educator and mentor, Dr. Juliet Gopez-Cervantes, Head of the Institute of the Digestive and Liver Diseases at the SLMC-Global City, was the second awardee for the Distinguished Professors award. She accepted the award with the thinking of continuing to pursue her love in clinical teaching and research with enthusiasm and dedication. She also shared the story of her life in the hopes that all of us may be inspired to study, train and work really  hard regardless of any situation and be successful beyond expectation.


Students’ choice awardees were recognized next and were presented by the student council, headed by Jon Dy, the academics committee head Kim Borja, and Dr. Malaya Santos, which was voted by all students per year level. The awards included were: Most Punctual Award, Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award and Student’s Choice Award.

Dr. Ma. Cristina Macrohon-Valdez and Dr. Noel Cruz were awarded with the Most Punctual award while Dr. Arturo Decano and Dr. Francis Moria both received the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award and Student’s Choice Award. Dr. Bernard Laya was recognized as the awardee for all three of the student’s choice awards.





Jon Dy, the outgoing Student Council President, gave his last speech for the entire Lukan community and hopes to challenge and inspire the next student council as well as its students.


The last award was for Most Outstanding Faculty, where Raynon Decano gave an a heartfelt introductory speech for the winner of the award, his father, Dr. Arturo Decano.