Comelec Special SC Elections SY 16-17

The St. Luke’s College of Medicine Commission on Elections (COMELEC) conducted special elections for three vacant spots in the roll of the SLCM Student Council (SC), namely, Treasurer, Externals Public Relations Officer (EPRO), and Internals Public Relations Officer (IPRO), last August 8, 2016.

There was no candidate for the three aforementioned positions during the SC elections held last school year, prompting the need for special elections.

COMELEC opened the positions once more to second and third year students, requiring them to issue a Certificate of Candidacy. Room-to-room campaigns were held last August 4, 2016, and the first-ever Miting De Avance through Facebook was launched on August 6, 2016, with each of the candidates answering questions asked directly to them of via the COMELEC Chairman.

COMELEC Chairman Earl Christian Reyes, together with the second and third year representatives, administered the casting and counting of votes. The results were published thru social media the evening of the elections day.

Out of the 221 eligible voters of SLCM, 171 voted, reaching a voter turnout of 77.38%. Christina Isabel Palomillo was elected Treasurer, garnering 161 votes. Izza Feline Lim won the spot for EPRO, with 156 votes; and Seraphim Marie Española won as IPRO with 164 votes. The three newly elected candidates are all second-year students from SLCM Batch 2020.